Today starts my data science journey

How, when and why I’m starting such an adventure.

Javier R. Godoy
5 min readAug 17, 2022
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng

I’m Javi, spanish journalist. My relation with science and technology has never been formal, but it has always been constant.

My curiosity drive me to journalism, then to data journalism and now drives me to the wonderful world of programming and maths.

I tried it and I can’t put it down anymore.

I’ll be honest with you: I wasn’t a brilliant student. One month ago I had the wrong mindset (‘I’m not good at math, I’m too dumb to try, why I need to do something I’m not good at?’… and so on).

But I like it. That’s all I need.

I believe Medium is a great channel to learn and share. Maybe you believe you want to be data scientist but, I don’t know, you don’t believe in yourself. Well, we need to chat each other about our passion here in Medium. Who cares? We like science, we like technology, we like math!

I think about share my data science path as an invitation to the gym for my friends. If we we go together, effort and perseverance are easier to us.

That’s why I will share with you my discoveries, doubts and learnings. Please, join me to the data science gym :)

Abstract: my data science path

--

--

Javier R. Godoy

I like math and stories. Journalist and Data Science student. Become a member to support my writing https://javizgodoy.medium.com/membership